General Research Fund (GRF) Competition

FY 2019

The General Research Fund (GRF) is a competitive award program that provides funding for the advancement of the university's research program. The Office of Research provides funds to each school or college and assists in the administration of these funds. The Vice Chancellor for the Office of Research has delegated to each entity the responsibility for awarding the funds. Each entity determines proposal criteria and has its own review committee, guidelines, application forms, application process and submission deadline. The Faculty Senate Research Committee is responsible for reviewing reports submitted by each school or college outlining the progress each entity has made in meeting its research goals. The allocation of funds to all entities for the following three-year period will be determined by this review.

Each faculty member on the Lawrence campus is eligible to submit one GRF proposal to his or her school or college as the principal investigator. Awards will be made based on the merit of the proposal, which includes the scholarly excellence of the proposal and its benefit to the university and to the individual researcher. Each entity may add additional proposal criteria as they deem appropriate. All funds are awarded for a one-year period (July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019) and may be used for summer salary, student or GRA salary, supplies and travel. The State of Kansas does not allow payment of tuition with these funds.

GRF Guidelines & GRF Handbook for research administrators and PI's to use in managing a GRF award is available.  If you have any questions regarding GRF funding, please contact Kelly Baysinger, kbaysinger@ku.edu.

In the table below you will find the contact and submission information for each entity. Please contact the applicable entity for detailed application information. 

College/School Contact Submission Deadline
Architecture & Design Mahbub Rashid | mrashid@ku.edu | 785-864-4405
Patti Baker | pmbaker@ku.edu | 785-864-3114
March 7, 2018
Business Charly Edmonds | cedmonds@ku.edu | 785-864-3841 January 26, 2018
College of Liberal Arts & Sciences
• SOTA • Behavioral • Humanities • Life Sciences • Physical Sciences • Social Sciences
Joy Ward | joyward@ku.edu | 785-864-5218
Tamara Falicov | tfalicov@ku.edu | 785-864-1353
February 9, 2018
Education Lisa Wolf-Wendel | lwolf@ku.edu | 785-864-9722 February 16, 2018
Engineering Amy McCurdy | amccurdy@ku.edu | 785-864-5348
Anna Paradis | aparadis@ku.edu | 785-864-1952
February 12, 2018
Journalism & Mass Communications Scott Reinardy | reinardy@ku.edu | 785-865-7691 February 23, 2018
Law Ashley Lonnberg | lonnberg@ku.edu | 785-864-9022 February 23, 2018
Library Jill Becker | jkbecker@ku.edu785-864-4661
Lea Currie | lcurrie@ku.edu | 785-864-8997
February 23, 2018
Music Terri Morris | tlmorris@ku.edu | 785-864-3422 February 7, 2018
Pharmacy

Teruna Siahaan | siahaan@ku.edu | 785-864-7327

February 12, 2018
Why KU
  • 48 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Pharmacy school No. 2 nationally for NIH funding
  • Hall Center receives 3rd NEH challenge grant to support humanities research collaboration
  • Regional leader in technology commercialization
  • 12 graduate programs rank in top 10 nationally among public universities.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Driving discovery, innovation, entrepreneurship
  • Home to 15 major research centers & state surveys
  • 1st in nation for its special education master’s and doctorate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • 1st in nation for its city management and urban policy master’s program.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities