General Research Fund


The General Research Fund is a competitive award program that provides funding for the advancement of the university's research program. The Office of Research provides funds to each school or college and assists in the administration of these funds.

The Vice Chancellor for Research has delegated to each entity the responsibility for awarding these funds. Each entity determines proposal criteria and has its own review committee, application process and submission deadline. The Faculty Senate Research Committee is responsible for reviewing reports submitted by each school or college outlining the progress each entity has made in meeting its research goals. The allocation of funds to all entities for the following three-year period will be determined by this review.

Each faculty member on the Lawrence campus is eligible to submit one GRF proposal to his or her school or college as the principal investigator. Awards are based on the merit of the proposal, which includes the scholarly excellence of the proposal and its benefit to the university and to the individual researcher.

Each entity may add additional proposal criteria as they deem appropriate. All funds are awarded for a one-year period (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023) and may be used for summer salary, student or GRA salary, supplies and travel. The State of Kansas does not allow payment of tuition with these funds.

Contact

All internal funding opportunities

Learn more

Resources for research administrators and investigators to manage GRF awards.

Contact + submission information

Mahbub Rashid
mrashid@ku.edu
785-864-4405

Patti Baker
pmbaker@ku.edu
785-864-3114

Submission deadline: March 4, 2022

Charly Edmonds
cedmonds@ku.edu
785-864-3841

Submission deadline: Jan 21, 2022

Includes the School of the Arts; Behavioral; Humanities; and Life, Physical & Social Sciences 

Tamara Falicov
tfalicov@ku.edu
785-864-1353

Mercedes Bounthapanya
m.bounthapanya@ku.edu
785-864-7608

Submission deadline: Visit the College's website

Lisa Wolf-Wendel
lwolf@ku.edu
785-864-9722

Dina Evans
​dpevans@ku.edu
785-864-0546

Submission deadline: Feb. 25, 2022

Candan Tamerler
ctamerler@ku.edu
785-864-2984

Shaine Marsden
shaine.marsden@ku.edu
785-864-0129

Submission deadline: Feb. 18, 2022

Hyunjin Seo
hseo@ku.edu
785-864-7612

Submission deadline: Feb. 14, 2022

Jessica Brown
jessicabrown@ku.edu
785-864-4777

Submission deadline: Feb. 25, 2022

Carmen Orth-Alfie
corthalf@ku.edu
785-864-8929

Submission deadline: Feb. 28, 2022

Terri Morris
tlmorris@ku.edu
785-864-3422

Submission deadline: Feb. 2, 2022

David Volkin
volkin@ku.edu
785-864-6262

Submission deadline: Feb. 11, 2022

Elenor Crangle
ecrangle@ku.edu
785-864-5201

Submission deadline: Feb. 14, 2022