General Research Fund


The General Research Fund is a competitive award program that provides funding for the advancement of the university's research program. The Office of Research provides funds to each school or college and assists in the administration of these funds.

The Vice Chancellor for Research has delegated to each entity the responsibility for awarding these funds. Each entity determines proposal criteria and has its own review committee, application process and submission deadline. The Faculty Senate Research Committee is responsible for reviewing reports submitted by each school or college outlining the progress each entity has made in meeting its research goals. The allocation of funds to all entities for the following three-year period will be determined by this review.

Each faculty member on the Lawrence campus is eligible to submit one GRF proposal to their school or college as the principal investigator. Awards are based on the merit of the proposal, which includes the scholarly excellence of the proposal and its benefit to the university and to the individual researcher.

Each entity may add additional proposal criteria as they deem appropriate. All funds are awarded for a one-year period (July 1 to June 30) and may be used for summer salary, student or GRA salary, supplies and travel. The State of Kansas does not allow payment of tuition with these funds.

Contact

All internal funding opportunities

Learn more

Resources for research administrators and investigators to manage GRF awards.

Contact + submission information

Jae Chang
jdchang@ku.edu
785-864-1446

Cari Vukelich
carivukelich@ku.edu
785-864-3114

Submission deadline: March 1, 2024

Charly Edmonds
cedmonds@ku.edu
785-864-3841

Submission deadline: Jan. 19, 2024

Includes the School of the Arts; Behavioral; Humanities; and Life, Physical & Social Sciences 

Nick Syrett
syrett@ku.edu
785-864-2311

Melinda Robinson
lyndjo@ku.edu
785-864-7859

Submission deadline: Visit the College's website

Lisa Wolf-Wendel

lwolf@ku.edu

785-864-9722



Dina Evans

‚Äčdpevans@ku.edu

785-864-0546

Submission deadline: Feb. 23, 2024

Suzanne Shontz
shontz@ku.edu
785-864-8816

Nikki Hammond
nikkihammond@ku.edu
785-864-5299

Submission deadline: Feb. 16, 2024

Hyunjin Seo

hseo@ku.edu

785-864-7612

Submission deadline: Feb. 16, 2024

Jessica Brown
jessicabrown@ku.edu
785-864-4777

Submission deadline: Feb. 16, 2024

Jill Becker
jkbecker@ku.edu
785-864-4661

Phil Cunningham
phil@ku.edu
785-864-0393

Submission deadline: Feb. 26, 2024

Terri Morris
tlmorris@ku.edu
785-864-3422

Submission deadline: Feb. 5, 2024

Janelle Ruisinger
jruisin1@ku.edu
785-864-6369

Submission deadline: Feb. 9, 2024

Elenor Crangle
ecrangle@ku.edu
785-864-5201

Submission deadline: Feb. 14, 2024