General Research Fund

The General Research Fund is a competitive award program that provides funding for the advancement of the university's research program. The Office of Research provides funds to each school or college and assists in the administration of these funds.

The Vice Chancellor for Research has delegated to each entity the responsibility for awarding these funds. Each entity determines proposal criteria and has its own review committee, application process and submission deadline. The Faculty Senate Research Committee is responsible for reviewing reports submitted by each school or college outlining the progress each entity has made in meeting its research goals. The allocation of funds to all entities for the following three-year period will be determined by this review.

Each faculty member on the Lawrence campus is eligible to submit one GRF proposal to his or her school or college as the principal investigator. Awards are based on the merit of the proposal, which includes the scholarly excellence of the proposal and its benefit to the university and to the individual researcher.

Each entity may add additional proposal criteria as they deem appropriate. All funds are awarded for a one-year period (July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022) and may be used for summer salary, student or GRA salary, supplies and travel. The State of Kansas does not allow payment of tuition with these funds.


All internal funding opportunities

Learn more

Resources for research administrators and investigators to manage GRF awards.

Contact + submission information

Mahbub Rashid

Patti Baker

Submission deadline: March 5, 2021

Charly Edmonds

Submission deadline: Jan 22, 2021

Lisa Wolf-Wendel

Dina Evans

Submission deadline: Feb. 22, 2021

Candan Tamerler

Heather Abernathy

Submission deadline: Feb. 19, 2021

Chuck Marsh

Submission deadline: Feb. 14, 2021

Jessica Brown

Submission deadline: Feb. 19, 2021

Carmen Orth-Alfie

Submission deadline: Feb. 19, 2021

Terri Morris

Submission deadline: Feb. 1, 2021

Michael Wolfe

Submission deadline: Feb. 12, 2021

Elenor Crangle

Feb. 14, 2021