Steven F. Warren Research Achievement Award

The Steven F. Warren Research Achievement Award was established in 2006 and honors an outstanding unclassified academic staff researcher from KU’s Lawrence campus.

The recipient receives $10,000 in research funds.

Nominations must be submitted electronically as a single PDF to The deadline for nominations is Nov. 1 by 11:59 p.m. 

Submit a nomination

Recognize a colleague for their research achievements. Nominations due Nov. 1.

Eligibility and nomination process

Only individuals who are appointed as full-time unclassified academic staff researchers working within a KU Lawrence campus academic department or research center are eligible for the award. 

  • Please note: Persons will only be eligible if the Office of Research's promotion procedures are applicable.

The individual’s research should be characterized as having significant influence in their field and/or as representing a productive record of important research that has expanded intellectual or societal insights.

A substantial portion of the nominee's work must have been done at KU.

Nominations must be submitted electronically as a single PDF to Deadline for nominations is 11:59 p.m. on Nov. 1.

Nominations must include the following elements:

  • A one-page letter of support that addresses:
    • the nominee's significant contribution(s) to their field
    • why or how they are significant
    • what impact the contributions have made (to the field/department/university/other)
    • a very brief explanation of the discipline’s expectations for the particular area/field (the form(s) in which the research is communicated and of these forms which is the most prestigious or recognized by colleagues)
  • A curriculum vita or resumé for the nominee
  • Two reference letters from scholars familiar with the nominee's work and its significance

Please note: Your letter of support should be written in a manner that is understandable to reviewers who may not be experts in the specific field of research of the nominee.

Previous award winners

  • Tyler Hicks, KU Center on Developmental Disabilities, 2024
  • Teri Garstka, Center for Public Partnerships & Research, 2023
  • D. Christopher Rogers, Kansas Biological Survey & Center for Ecological Research, 2022
  • Maggie Witek, Center of BioModular Multi-Scale Systems for Precision Medicine, 2021
  • Dale Walker, Juniper Gardens Children's Project, 2020
  • Justin Douglas, Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Laboratory, 2018