General Research Fund Competition

Fiscal Year 2022

The General Research Fund is a competitive award program that provides funding for the advancement of the university's research program. The Office of Research provides funds to each school or college and assists in the administration of these funds. The Vice Chancellor for Research has delegated to each entity the responsibility for awarding these funds. Each entity determines proposal criteria and has its own review committee, application process, and submission deadline. The Faculty Senate Research Committee is responsible for reviewing reports submitted by each school or college outlining the progress each entity has made in meeting its research goals. The allocation of funds to all entities for the following three-year period will be determined by this review.

Each faculty member on the Lawrence campus is eligible to submit one GRF proposal to his or her school or college as the principal investigator. Awards are based on the merit of the proposal, which includes the scholarly excellence of the proposal, as well as its benefit to the university and to the individual researcher. Each entity may add additional proposal criteria as they deem appropriate. All funds are awarded for a one-year period (July 1, 2021 to June 30, 2022) and may be used for summer salary, student or GRA salary, supplies and travel. The State of Kansas does not allow payment of tuition with these funds.

GRF Guidelines (PDF) and GRF Handbook (PDF) are available for research administrators and PIs to use in managing their GRF award. If you have any questions regarding GRF funding, please contact Kelly Baysinger, kbaysinger@ku.edu.

In the table below you will find the contact and submission information for each entity. Please contact the applicable entity for detailed application information.

College/School Contact Information Submission Deadline

School of Architecture & Design

Mahbub Rashid
mrashid@ku.edu
785-864-4405

Patti Baker
pmbaker@ku.edu
785-864-3114

March 5, 2021

School of Business

Charly Edmonds
cedmonds@ku.edu
785-864-3841

Jan. 22, 2021

College of Liberal Arts & Sciences

• SOTA • Behavioral • Humanities • Life, Physical &  Social Sciences

Tamara Falicov
tfalicov@ku.edu
785-864-1353

See College GRF website

School of Education & Human Sciences

Lisa Wolf-Wendel
lwolf@ku.edu
785-864-9722

Dina Evans
​dpevans@ku.edu
785-864-0546

Feb. 22, 2021

School of Engineering

Candan Tamerler
ctamerler@ku.edu
785-864-2984

Heather Abernathy
habernathy@ku.edu
85-864-4512

Feb. 19, 2021

School of Journalism & Mass Communications

Chuck Marsh
marsh@ku.edu

Feb. 14, 2021

School of Law

Jessica Brown
jessicabrown@ku.edu
785-864-4777

Feb. 26, 2021

Library

Carmen Orth-Alfie
corthalf@ku.edu
785-864-8929

Feb. 19, 2021

School of Music

Terri Morris
tlmorris@ku.edu
785-864-3422

Feb. 1, 2021

School of Pharmacy

Michael Wolfe
mswolfe@ku.edu
785-864-1002

Feb. 12, 2021

School of Social Welfare

Elenor Crangle
ecrangle@ku.edu
785-864-5201

Feb. 14, 2021