Proof of Concept Fund

commercialiazationThe Proof of Concept (POC) program is funded by the University of Kansas to further develop novel technologies that are near-commercialization. This program will support research/development in all areas of technology including electronics, software, communications, engineering, and those projects not eligible for Institute for Advancing Medical Innovations (IAMI) funding.  The goal of the program is to enable technologies for licensing to a company by the end of the year funding cycle.

KUCTC will fund high-risk, fast-track research/innovation projects for one year to make the technologies more attractive for private investment.  Applicants must indicate clearly the economic potential of project technology. Additionally, companies that would be suitable partners to develop a resulting commercial product must be identified (e.g., potential licensees or sponsored research collaborators).  In rare cases an additional year of funding may be possible if milestones have been met and there is clear commercial justification.  To be eligible for an additional year funding, applicants must have approval of KUCTC President, Julie Goonewardene, in writing and again compete in the general applicant pool by submitting a new application for second year funding.

POC Application Form PDF

Why KU
  • 48 nationally ranked graduate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Pharmacy school No. 2 nationally for NIH funding
  • Hall Center receives 3rd NEH challenge grant to support humanities research collaboration
  • Regional leader in technology commercialization
  • 12 graduate programs rank in top 10 nationally among public universities.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • Driving discovery, innovation, entrepreneurship
  • Home to 15 major research centers & state surveys
  • 1st in nation for its special education master’s and doctorate programs.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • 1st in nation for its city management and urban policy master’s program.
    —U.S. News & World Report
  • One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities